News Society Trending News

NGIJ Inaugurates New National Executive Council

By: HighCelebritySquard


The Nigerian Guild of Investigative Journalists NGIJ has inaugurated a new national executive with a pledge to focus on investigations for good governance.

According to a statement by the NGIJ Vice President, Information and Strategy, Mr Israel Bolaji, The 7-member national executive council, led by Ayo Mojoyin, was inaugurated on Wednesday in line with Covid-19 health protocols by the Chairman of Nigerian Union of Journalists, Lagos chapter, Dr Qasim Akinreti and a Notary Public, Barrister Joshua Isijola.

“NGIJ will be an active player in the movement to actualise robust investigation, good governance and public accountability for sustainable development in Nigeria nationally and across all states,” said Mr Ayo Mojoyin who emerged as the first duly elected NGIJ national president.

Speaking also at the inauguration, Dr Akinreti charged the new executive council to live up to its responsibilities by ensuring maximum attention to investigating anomalies in the society. “The role of the media includes probing issues to unravel mysteries, providing robust news coverage, keeping the public informed and setting societal agenda amongst others.”

Akinreti urged the newly inaugurated council to beam searchlights on many grey areas in the Nigerian society and practice the profession with utmost respect for the ethics of journalism and in good faith to all and sundry.

While administering the Oath of Office, Barrister Joshua Isijola, a senior lawyer and Notary Public urged the executive council members to uphold the tenets of the Guild and discharge its duties without fear or favour and actualise the objectives of the guild as enshrined in the Constitution.

Other members of the NGIJ executive elected for a two-year tenure were Mr. Israel Bolaji (Vice President 1), Mr James Ezema (Vice President 2), Mr. AbdulRahman Aliagan(National General Secretary) and Mr Femi Oyewale (National PRO). Others are Mr Oyewale Oyelola (National Registrar) and Mr Rowland ‘Shuwa ( Financial Secretary).













Please follow and like us: